How do you become a travel writer?

Do you ever wonder what it would be like if you had your dream job from when you were little?  My dream job when I was little was to be a fisherman, and while I’m glad that didn’t come true, I still sometimes think about some of my lofty aspirations that never came to be.  Ever since I was in high school, I wished I could have a job where I traveled all the time.  Not that I knew of him at the time, but I pictured I would be sort of like Anthony Bourdain minus the insane drug usage and the whole being on tv part.  I don’t know what would be better than traveling to cool places, seeing some off the beaten track stuff, and eating some delicious food. 

Although I didn’t get into that line of work, I still get to travel a bit….but 2 weeks a year just doesn’t seem like enough.  I read some pre-requisites on the Lonely Planet career page that they want you to be published first.  I have heard a great tip that I would like to pass on to all my fellow aspiring career travelers.  A good way to get published is to submit an article to your local newspaper.  I remember an editor once saying on the radio that of all the submissions 95% were international travel articles; however they were obligated to fill an alloted amount of space with local travel.  So if you are doing the math like I am, you only have to compete with 5% of the submissions for a chance to get published.  Plus, you can take a day trip and still be back for dinner. 

I have also found there is actually grant money for traveling.  Granted, you have to pitch a great and novel idea….but hey, its worth a shot. 

Anyway, good luck and let me know if you have any other tricks of the trade you would like to share.

This entry was posted in Bucket Lists, Food, Sights To See and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

