Sri Lanka

Have you seen Anthony Bourdain’s travel show?  Well the one place he went to that looked like he would rather pack up and quit the show than stay another minute, was Sri Lanka.  Now grantide, there was a civil war at the time, but how can it be that bad?  And when I watched, I was thinking…”just great, and THIS is where we’re going”.

We’re going there in a few months, so I’ve been trying to find out more about it.  Although time probably won’t allow (we’re only going to be there 24 hours….talk about jetsetting), I would really like to tour a tea plantation.  I’ve also heard the beaches are pretty great so hopefully we’ll get out of Colombo for a bit. 

The hotel that Bourdain stayed in when he was there was oddly like the hotel in the Shining.  It looked beautiful and creepy at the same time.  The hotel is called Galle Face Hotel and guide books say that is the place to stay.  Only problem is that they are already booked!  The last thing I’d want to do is go all the way to Sri Lanka and stay in a Hilton, so does anyone know of any really cool hotels there?  My only thing is that I’d want it to be within an hour’s drive of the airport, but other than that, I’m open to anywhere cool.

This entry was posted in Beaches, Sri Lanka and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

