Fruitcake City

As I was biking to work this morning listening to Van Morrison I saw a clown on stilts walking down Larrabee Street. He didn’t seem to be going anywhere in particular, I guess he just wanted to feel taller than everyone else at 8 in the morning. I immediately heard in my head Jimmy Buffett singing “Fruitcakes in the kitchen.
Fruitcakes on the street.
Struttin naked through the crosswalk.
In the middle of the week.
Half-baked cookies in the oven.
Half-baked people on the bus.
There’s a little bit of fruitcake left in everyone of us.”

With that I have to say Key West is probably one of my top 5 places I love visiting. There aren’t any big $5 college words I can use to describe it appropriately, it’s just awesome! It is incredibly fun, carefree, and adventurous; how I want to feel when I am on vacation. Myself, Kelly and Leslie have all thought of excuses to move down there, but for some reason none of us have done it yet. Maybe one day, I think I would make an excellent snorkeling instructor!

Growing up in Florida, we would make the drive down to the Keys every year listening to Van Morrison, Jimmy Buffett, and Frank Sinatra the whole way. We would have Cuban sandwiches stored in the car engine that would be warm and ready to eat anytime we got hungry along the drive.(Kelly always refused to eat them, saying it was dangerous to eat anything that was cooked by a car engine. But I was young and hungry, and everyone else was doing it, and I wanted to fit in, so I ate mine which was delicious!) When we first started going there, Key West was more of a fisherman’s town. Rough around the edges, with exotic knick-knack shops and restaurants that had sand for the floor. Today it has caught the tourism bug and there are much more corporate companies rolling into this small island. Whatever way you like it, there are plenty of conch fritters to go around!

Some fun daytime activities include the Conch tour train which takes you all over the island in a cute yellow train. There is also visiting Ernest Hemingway’s house and seeing the six toed cats living on the property. Ripley’s Believe It or Not was always a blast, Kelly and I would spend the excruciatingly hot days inside here.

At night you do as the locals do, get Key-Wasted. Pretty much anytime in Key West though it’s after 5 PM so don’t think you’ll get a dirty look if you order a daiquiri with your pancakes. The bar scene is mainly grouped together on Duval Street with one of the more popular bars, Sloppy Joe’s,in the middle of all the chaos (Captain Tony’s is the original bar just down the street). Before you head out at night, be sure to stop at Mallory Square for the Sunset Celebration. Every night there are musicians, fire-eaters and other street performers ready to show their stuff!

I could go on forever about Key West, but unfortunately I have to get back to reality. I’m still hopeful on that snorkeling job! Till then I’ll just keep singing ‘There’s a little bit of fruitcake left in everyone of us.’
If you want to see more ideas of what to do there, here is the city’s webiste:
http://www.keywestchamber.com/

This entry was posted in Key West, Sights To See and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fruitcake City

  1. theoverworkedamerican says:

    I’m still grossed out about eating cuban sandwiches off the engine of the car. I do love the Keys though!

Leave a Reply

