Top 5 Monday – Most memorable breakfasts on the road

Have you ever heard the expression, “breakfast is the most important meal of the day”?  Well, it’s true.  It sets the pace for the rest of the day.  Ever had something so good that your mouth is watering right now just thinking about it?  On the flip side, did you have something just awful that makes you want to run to the bathroom just thinking about it?  Well we put together our top 5 most memorable breakfasts to make your mouth water… or to serve as a cautionary tale of foreign breakfast mishaps.

1.  Leslie – One of my most memorable breakfasts was in Barcelona, Spain.  I’m a big fan of Spain, Spanish people, Spanish food, Spanish music, all of it.  But I will be the first to admit that I am not the biggest fan of Barcelona, mainly because of our experience the first night in the city.

Delicious Huevos Estrellados

My friend and I arrived late after taking the train all day from Madrid; we were hot, tired, and just wanted to check into the hostel and get some sleep before exploring Barcelona the next day.  We arrived to find what definitely constitutes my worst hostel memory – a room in the “annex” of a popular youth hostel, with sand in the bed from the previous travelers, a shower that didn’t function, and roommates that came in late and actually crawled into bed in the bunks occupied by my friend and I.  Needless to say, by the time morning arrived, we were ready to hit the road and just wanted a nice, hearty breakfast to shake the bad night from our memory.  In a nearby pub we found our answer in the delicious Spanish dish, huevos estrellados.  Consisting mainly of broken fried eggs and thick cut french fries, this was the perfectly greasy way to start our day.  I don’t usually like fried eggs too much, but these were broken and scrambled a bit, then cooked with the potatoes just right.  Our version also had some ham tossed in so it was a delightful Spanish take on the classic ham and eggs, and a much better start to the day than expected!2.  Scott – When in Paris, the market on Rue Cler is the best way to explore the joys of

Crepes on Rue Cler

French food culture, and is my pick for a favorite breakfast spot.  There are market stands lining both sides of this pedestrian-only street, brimming with fresh produce.  Several creperies and patisseries also line the walkway, hawking their wares.  Behind the stalls are specialty food stores featuring all varieties of meats, cheeses and other delicacies.

Rue Cler is a great choice either for putting together your own picnic breakfast, or sitting down at a cafe and having the work done for you.  Rick Steves has an amazing walking tour of the market:  http://www.ricksteves.com/plan/destinations/france/ruecler0208.htm

3. Lexie – I am not a big breakfast eater, mainly because I am not a morning person. My mornings usually consist of waking up 15 minutes before I have to run out the door for work, so who has time for breakfast?

When I am on vacation this is really the only time I enjoy a morning meal. I would have to say one of my most memorable breakfasts was at the Four Seasons in Chiang Mai, Thailand
(http://www.fourseasons.com/chiangmai/photos_and_videos/#image-chiangmai-resort-CHI_127).
Kelly had talked about this place in previous posts, but I wanted to put in my two cents. (Travel + Leisure Magazine ranked it one of the top five best hotels in Asia for their 2010 list so you know it’s
good! http://www.travelandleisure.com/worldsbest/2010/hotels/resorts-asia/59)
First off, the scenery is breath-taking. You are literally in the middle of a rice patty field.
http://www.fourseasons.com/chiangmai/photos_and_videos/#image-chiangmai-resort-CHI_127
You get to see the water buffaloes grazing and the Mae Rim Valley.

Next the food. Some people put their noses up to buffets. I don’t blame them, most buffets are pretty terrible. Everything is dry and tastes like rubber because it’s been sitting in the warming trays for
half the morning.  The buffet at The Four Seasons though is on another level. All of the food was fresh and organic, and typically made to order. Kelly and I could have spent the whole day there sampling
everything! They had food from all regions, but I was mainly intrigued by a typical Thai breakfast.  Here is an idea of the menu:
http://www.fourseasons.com/chiangmai/menu_1450/

4. Kelly – I have loved many a breakfast on the road, from crumpets in Amsterdam (its like an english muffin….but not) to hot chocolate in Italy that tastes like pure melted chocolate…..but the most

NEVER AGAIN!

memorable makes me cringe just thinking about it.  Marmite.  What is up with that stuff?  It’s positively the worst thing I’ve ever eaten.  For those of you that are lucky enough to never have tried it, Marmite is a sticky jelly type disaster from England.  It’s yeast extract and salt mixed together.

We were in Japan and were at the hotel breakfast buffet.  A lot of sushi and stuff like that, which I like so I was giving it all a shot.  Then we came across the marmite station, where you could grill your bread and slather it on.  It kind of looks like apple jelly so we piled that sucker onto our toast.  It doesn’t taste like apple jelly though, that’s for sure.  It tastes like salt in jelly form.  If you paid me $100 just to eat that again, I’d tell you that you are crazy.  I’m getting a bit quezy just thinking of it right now.

5.  Lexie – Next on my list of for favorite breakfast spots, is a local favorite growing up, Lenny’s in Clearwater, Florida. I used to go Saturday mornings in high school, after sneaking out and drinking all Friday night. I remember the first time going, I had been out all night and a friend had suggested it. No one had ever heard of the place so there was a little confusion. “Denny’s?” “No. Lenny’s” After about a half hour of questioning who/what/where this place was, we all piled into a car and headed to the highway. From the outside I wasn’t very impressed. It looked like your typical divey diner where they over-cook and under-season all of the food, which had a tinge of gray coloring. But we were in need of some stick-to-your-ribs and soak up all that al-al-al-alcohol type of food so whatever, we could deal. This is one of those places you should not judge a book by it’s cover, it was amazing! When you first sit down you get a complimentary danish basket, which in itself is a full meal. Then you order from the extensive menu, some of my favorites were their biscuits and gravy and eggs Benedict. Everything tastes like your grandmother had made it. You know what I’m talking about, it is those old recipes where there is no recipe. It’s just a little of this and a little of that and somehow comes out amazing every time, but never when you make it, only Nana has that special touch. The prices are really cheap and the portions aren’t skimpy what-so-ever, so come hungry is all I can say.

To sum up, if you’re in the neighborhood and are looking for a place that’s in between the bar and the beach I highly recommend Lenny’s.
http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/30/343075/restaurant/Tampa-Bay/Lennys-Clearwater

This entry was posted in Food, France, Japan, Spain, Thailand, Top Five, United States and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Top 5 Monday – Most memorable breakfasts on the road

  1. Katie says:

    Mmmmm….Lenny’s. But don’t go too late because in my experience they tend to run out of stuff.

Leave a Reply

