If it’s free, it’s for me!!!

Something my grandma used to always say and is a motto I live by.

It being summertime in Chicago (arguably one of the best places to be in the warmer months) I want to be out and about as much as possible. I am shocked it is already August and I feel I haven’t lived up to my full summertime potential! But unfortunately for me, working for the man doesn’t pay well and most of the time I am cash poor. Damn the man! Most of my friends though are in the same boat as me so we try to take on adventures that are free or damn near close to it.

This week was a perfect example of it. First off, there was free beer. The place, Redmond’s in Wrigleyville on Saturday. The price, free. About once a month I get an email saying that I had won a party for two hours of free beer drinking. How is this possible you ask? Who knows and who cares is what I say. All I know is that it’s pretty awesome. I have a few friends though who get all snooty to the whole idea of it. Whatever B, I don’t see you popping the Cristal so zip it.

Moving on, Tuesday night was filled with cocktails, tapas and salsa dancing. The place, Nacional 27 in River North. The price, $10 which went to gratuity. Some friends had won a party(starting to see a trend here) where it was unlimited food and drinks and a salsa lesson. Everything was amazing, they had signature cocktails including a pomegranate martini with salt and pepper around the rim that was a perfect combo of salty/sweet. They also had moijitos (my favorite!), margaritas, sangria, and something called the caipirinha. For the food, let me tell you, it was a spread! All yummy latin food, including watermelon and tuna ceviche, bbq lamb tacos, goat cheese croqueta, smoked chicken empanada, and beef quesadillas, just to name a few things. After gorging myself waddled myself to the dance floor for the salsa lesson. The music reminded me of the sexy party in ‘Breakfast at Tiffany’s’ and also made me want to travel to Cuba for some reason. In the end that night made my week. I was glad I decided not to be a hermit for the night and splurge a whole ten dollars.

Next, Wednesday night, was a free Goose Island beer tasting. The place, Fizz in Roscoe Village. The price, free. Well not entirely free. Well not entirely, I bought a beer to sip in between tastings, but I biked to the bar so I deserved it for not spending money taking the ‘El’. Goose Island, in case you aren’t familiar, is a local brewery of Chicago. I’m a fan of most of their beers, but I would not say they are my favorite. There were four samplings, which included Green Line, Matilda, 312, and Sophie. All came with a food pairing to bring out the flavor and I have to say they did a pretty good job. I was still on my high from Nacional 27, so was a little disappointed by the small portions and slow service, but hey it’s free so I can’t complain too much.

In the end it was an eventful week, and it is only Thursday! I was glad I got to get out of the house, have a some drinks and have a few laughs. That’s just sooo Chicago!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to If it’s free, it’s for me!!!

  1. Leslie says:

    Yum, caipirinhas are delicious! Those events sure beat our days of snagging free buffets and drinking water! Do they still have $3 chocolate martinis over in Southport?

    • chicagolex says:

      Oh those martinis were so good! I don’t think I have been there since you moved to D.C. Going all the way to Southport these days seems sooo far!

Leave a Reply

