Bucket Lists, Part Three

Let’s keep the theme rolling! 

Part of what’s so great about this quest for me is that I don’t have to choose a bucket list.  Like Kelly (we must be friends or something), I literally want to go everywhere.  However, under duress from my fellow travelers, if I’m forced to pick the current top 5, I can do so just because I love top 5 lists.  (Side note: how great is High Fidelity?)

So, here you go, my in-the-moment top 5 bucket list destinations, excluding those on Kelly and Scott’s, because Machu Picchu, Turkey, and Morocco would be on my first list.

1. Tanzania – I love Africa, period, but Tanzania has to be tops.  The wildlife on safari, the people (hopefully not on view during safari), all at the base of the magnificent Mt. Kilimanjaro.  My grandfather was an avid and adventurous traveler, and one of the first trips I remember him taking when I was little was a safari in Tanzania and helicopter ride around the top of Mt. Kilimanjaro.  My wanderlust is not always just a replication of his travels, but in this case I wouldn’t mind seeing the snow-capped peaks and lions and giraffes for myself.

 

2. Egypt – and not just Alexandria or Giza!  As a Classics major, I have an above-average interest in the historical sights to be seen in Egypt, and they are certainly a draw.  But recently I learned about the Nile river cruises, during which you can sleep under the stars on a river boat while sailing down the majestic river, stopping not only at the Great Pyramids, but also Thebes, and other fascinating ancient sites.  

3. Antarctica – I know, what’s there to see but a bunch of ice?  But this is truly a frontier destination.  We know so little about an entire continent, and I have always wanted to brave the elements for something like a trek to the South Pole.

4. Russia – It’s just so mysterious and intriguing.  I’m particularly interested in St. Petersburg and the western region, but would love to see the capital and other sites in the East.  I know that I have a romanticized picture in my head, but I would love to see a ballet, and travel on the Trans-Siberian Railroad.

5. Easter Island – This is probably my most unashamedly nerdy pick.  I am just captivated by the history, scientific discovery, and ecology of this remote island.  It may be a holdover from my previous life where I wanted to be a biology researcher, but Easter Island appeals to my sense of adventure, academic and cultural curiosity, and love of tropical vacations.  Win WIN win.

This entry was posted in Bucket Lists, Top Five. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bucket Lists, Part Three

  1. theoverworkedamerican says:

    I knew you would appreciate my ode to John Cusack!

Leave a Reply

