Who was the only undefeated team in this year’s World Cup?

If you guessed Spain, you’re wrong.

Of the 32 teams that played in this year’s tournament, the only side to not lose a single game was plucky New Zealand.  They managed to tie their Group F matches against Paraguay, Slovakia, and Italy.  However, because they didn’t win any of their games, they didn’t have enough points to advance to the knockout rounds.

New Zealand’s match against the Italians was probably one of the most unexpectedly exciting matches of the tournament.  It was amazing to watch the Kiwis take the lead against the defending champion Italians early in the match, and then hold on for 83 minutes for the tie.

This entry was posted in New Zealand, World Cup. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s